Karen Ibasco wins 4th Ms. Earth crown for PH

Karen Ibasco wins 4th Ms. Earth crown for PH
Karen Ibasco wins 4th Ms. Earth crown for PH


The Philippines chalked up an impressive record at the Miss Earth pageant as Miss Philippines Earth  Karen Ibasco bested 85 other aspirants for the crown.

Her achievement marks the country’s fourth victory, this year’s ceremonies being held at the SM Mall of Asia Arena in Pasay City, Philippines on Saturday night.

The Philippines last won in the pageant in 2015, with Angelia Ong taking home the crown.


For the tilt’s Top 8 finalists were given 30 seconds to express their thoughts on a hashtag that they had picked out of a bowl. Karen chose the hashtag #biodiversity. Ibasco said: “She said: “Biodiversity is very important. We are very known in the Philippines to have a lot of biodiversity, and they’re very important because they also balances the ecosystem. It’s very important for us to protect them, because as we protect them, we protect the environment to help save our home, our planet, our Earth, to be a better place to live in. Thank you.”

For the second question and answer segment, the final 4 delegates were all asked the same question: “Who or what do you think is the biggest enemy of Mother Earth and why?”

Karen responded: “I believe that the real problem in this world is not climate change; the real problem is us because of our ignorance and apathy. What we have to do is to start changing our ways, to start recalibrating our minds, and redirecting our steps, because together, as a global community, our micro efforts will have a macro effect to help save our home, our planet. Thank you.”

As she wears the Miss Earth crown, Ibasco is expected to work   environmental awareness

Miss Earth 2016 Katherine Espin passed on the crown to the Philippines’ Karen Ibasco.

Ibasco’s victory came one day after  Binibining Pilipinas queen, Nelda Ibe placed second in the 2016 Miss Globe pageant held in Tirania,  in the Albania and PH’s Elizabeth Clenci wins 2nd Runner-up in Miss Grand International 2017

Before Ibasco and Ong, the other Filipino winners of the Miss Earth winners were Karla Paula Ginteroy Henry (2008), Jamie del Rosario Herrell (2014).

Here is the full list of winners:

  • Miss Earth Fire: Russia, Lada Akimova
  • Miss Earth Water: Colombia, Juliana Franco
  • Miss Earth Air: Australia, Nina Robertson
  • Miss Earth: Philippines, Karen Ibasco

Top 8

  • Australia, Nina Robertson
  • Philippines, Karen Ibasco
  • Thailand, Paweensuda Drouin
  • Venezuela, Ninoska Vasquez
  • Colombia, Juliana Franco
  • Czech Republic, Iva Uchytilová
  • Netherlands, Faith Landman
  • Russia, Lada Akimova

Top 16

  • Thailand, Paweensuda Drouin
  • USA, Andreia Gibau
  • Russia, Lada Akimova
  • Tonga, Diamond Langi
  • Colombia, Juliana Franco
  • Angola, Ermelinda de Matos
  • Guatemala, Maria José Castañeda
  • Vietnam, Le Thi Ha Thu
  • Switzerland, Sarah Laura Peyrel
  • Bosnia and Herzegovina, Lela Karagic
  • Australia, Nina Robertson
  • Philippines, Karen Ibasco
  • Venezuela, Ninoska Vasquez
  • Netherlands, Faith Landman
  • Cameroon, Angele Kossinda
  • Czech Republic, Iva Uchytilová